top of page

Board News: Election Results

Greetings from the ISD Board of Trustees,

A huge thank you to everyone who attended the AGM on Friday night, as well as all those of you who voted in the trustee election.

It was a great night, reflecting on the year's achievements and enjoying entertainment from our students.

Congratulations to the successful candidates in this year's trustee election:

  1. Thiaba Camara Sy

  2. Aylin Karahan

  3. Sadia Asim

  4. Molly Glenn

  5. Martina Brecciaroli.

These candidates bring a great set of skills to the board.

I am also pleased to announce two new non-voting representatives.  Dr Nneka Johnson has been voted in by her peers to be the faculty representative. Marybeth McKeever has been appointed by the US Ambassador as his representative.

The ISD Association was also asked to vote on a bylaw change to promote good governance by including two appointments among the nine trustees.

This bylaw change was not carried by those who voted.

This will be my last jag journal article, as my family is returning home to Australia after five years in Dakar (and ten years abroad).  It has been an absolute honour and joy to serve ISD as Chair of the Board for three of those years.  ISD is a great school, with strong programs, dedicated teachers, passionate board members and fantastic students.  I wish you all the very best for all the promise the future holds at ISD.

I am delighted to let you know that the Board has voted unanimously to appoint Thiaba Camara Sy as the incoming Chair.  Thiaba has served as ISD's Treasurer for 10 years.  She is a strong and compassionate board member, who will be an excellent Chair.  Thank you Thiaba for stepping into this role, and to all the volunteer trustees for your hard work to make ISD the best possible school it can be. 

Kind regards,

Louisa Gibbs


ISD Board of Trustees

bottom of page