top of page

Board News: Annual Board Retreat

Greetings from the ISD Board of Trustees, which held its Annual Retreat last weekend.  

The Annual Retreat is an opportunity for board members to:

  • Receive governance training so that we have the right skills to undertake our work

  • Discuss in-depth some of the important issues for the school

  • Develop our board goals

  • Assign the director’s goals for the year ahead

  • Form committees to work towards achieving those goals

Teresa Arpin joined us this year to facilitate our three-day program. Teresa is an experienced school board strategic planner and facilitator.

During the course of the retreat, she has led us to review ISD’s Board Governance Agreement and to exchange on best practices in board governance through case studies and group conversations.

We also had generative discussions on Diversity and Inclusion as well as Sexual Assault and Harassment.

Finally, we have determined Board and Director goals for 2020 – 2021. This year, the bulk of the Board’s work will be carried by five committees whose chairs are:  

Finance: Molly Glenn, Treasurer

Buildings & Grounds: Aylin Karahan, Vice-Chair

Inclusion & Diversity: Thiaba Camara Sy, Chair

Policy Committee: Stephane Rosenberg, Trustee

Governance and Development: Sadia Asim, Secretary

If you are interested in learning more about the committees and their work, please contact the Committee Chairs via our email address:  

Our next Board meeting will be held virtually on Thursday, September 24th, 2020 at 6.00 pm. As always, parents and guardians of current ISD students as well as faculty members are welcome to attend as observers. To receive an invitation, please email Wendy Kinyeki, the Assistant to the Board at for the meeting details.

Questions and comments can be sent to the ISD Board email address:, which is checked regularly by our Secretary, Sadia Asim.

We hope that you have had a great start to the school year and we look forward to serving you in the months ahead.

Kind regards,


Chair, ISD Board of Trustees  

bottom of page